For someone who talks a lot, I never thought it would be so difficult to find the ‘perfect’ sentence to start my blog. I want it to make an impact, to be witty, to grab people by the balls and say yes, we want to read more!!! As it happens I’m about a week behind schedule so I’ll just get cracking with it instead. Before my nearly 40 (arghhhh) year old memory fails me and I forget how much pain I was in during my first run!!

So… I’m running the Great North Run this year. 10th September 2017.

Do I actually need to say any more? That sentence is not something I ever thought I would write, or say, or even think! Yet here I am, buying running tops and sports bras and such like.

I wanted to create a blog so that I can share my story with family and friends. If I put it down in writing and people read it then that means it’s real. There’s no going back, no talking myself out of it. I have to do it. I am also unashamedly looking for support and encouragement as this is going to be one of the biggest challenges I’ve ever faced. I will also, nearer the time, be looking for sponsorship as I attempt to raise wads of cash for charity.  It will also help to keep me focused. To not forget my reasons for doing  this and in September, when I have completed my first half marathon, I can look back at when I started and see just how far I have come.

So for now, that’s it. I’ll post about my reasons for doing this and then lovely updates of how my training is going. So tune in folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

